Sunspotter Talk

Size vs complexity

• RSearle by RSearle

Thanks for a fascinating project! My background is in marine geophysics, particularly analysis of sonar images.
    You mention that you resize the images, because there may be a tendency for humans to classify larger objects as more complex. However, in resizing them you are, presumably, changing the resolution, so that smaller spots, once magnified, will appear fuzzier. Might not this also bias the perception of complexity? Certainly I find that, all else being equal, I tend to see more complexity in the higher resolution images. Perhaps your analysis could compare complexity of a) similar resolution features, and (b) images features of differently sized/resolution images?
    Finally, there are some image pairs that generally seem to have similar complexity. How about a third option of 'both the same'?

Posted

• dvdgc13 by dvdgc13 translator, scientist in response to RSearle's comment.

Hi @RSearle! Thanks for your comments. In fact, the analysis of the results after this changes in resolution have to be treated with special care. In most of the case I would see the higher resolution images with larger complexity as you do, but I have gotten different comments from different people, seeing more complexity in the fuzzy images. We've got already our hands in our first dataset of classifications, let's see what that tells us. We will have to compare them in multiple ways, being these two ways that you mention - (a) and (b) - one of our first steps. We will post all our findings in the blog!!!

Regarding your last point... I'm think that if we allow be mark both as the same we won't be able to distinguish them... but maybe one of the people more familiar with the classification algorithm could tell us. There must be some small difference to make you think one is more complex than other - or we hope so 😃

Posted

• pahiggins by pahiggins